San Pablo Beacon Community Schools Initiative (SPBCSI)

Children Standing in a Circle at a Dover Elementary Classroom
Classroom Reading during Bayview Elementary's African American Excellence Read-In
Children Jump-roping
Family Receiving Gifts during Family Giving Tree Event
On November 21, 2011, the City of San Pablo City Council passed a resolution to develop a San Pablo Full Service Community Schools (FSCS) Initiative with the goal of eventually transforming all schools in the City into Full Service Community Schools. In a full service community school (community school) the school district, city, county, community-based organizations, businesses, families and philanthropists form a strong and transparent partnership to jointly address the identified needs of students, families and the community in a comprehensive, integrated and accountable way. They share leadership, work towards a common vision and agenda, and share responsibility for results.

The City of San Pablo’s Youth, Schools and Community Partnerships Division is aligned philosophically and programmatically with the San Pablo Beacon Community Schools Initiative. The 2015-2019 Strategic Work Plan identifies how funding will be redirected to financially support the personnel, programs, and services needed to build San Pablo’s schools into comprehensive community schools. San Pablo Team for Youth (SPTFY) is the funding mechanism for developing and deploying youth services that support the mission of San Pablo's Beacon Community Schools Initiative.

School Principal Beacon Director Lead Agency Evaluations
Bayview 
Elementary
Melanie Spears
melanie.spears@wccusd.net

Heather Priebe
hpriebe@ymcaeastbay.org
YMCA of the East Bay Profile Bayview
Dover
Elementary
Melynda Piezas
mpiezas@wccusd.net
Edgar Medina
emedina@bacr.org
Bay Area Community
Resources (BACR)

Profile
Dover
Downer 
Elementary
Christopher Read
cread@wccusd.net
Natasha Hancock
nhancock@bacr.org
Bay Area Community
Resources (BACR)
Profile Downer
Helms 
Middle
Jessica Petrilli
jpetrilli@wccusd.net
Joyce Synnott
jsynnott@bacr.org
Bay Area Community 
Resources (BACR)

Profile Helms
Lake
Elementary
Kenneth Bonner Jr.
kbonner@wccusd.net
Katherine Garcia
kgarcia@ymcaeastbay.org
YMCA of the East Bay 
Profile Lake

Riverside 
Elementary
Christine Hatcher
christine.hatcher@wccusd.net
Amy Adkins

aadkins@bacr.org

Bay Area Community 
Resources (BACR)
Profile Riverside
Beacon National Network Logo
  1. Jora Atienza Washington

    Community Services Manager
    Phone: (510) 215-3092

California School-Based Health Alliance -SPBCSI Presentation


 2015-2019 Strategic Work Plan 
FSCS Plan Cover.PNG












Local Resources
For community and youth program information
San Pablo Youth, School and Community Partnerships
(510) 215-3087
To report gang-related crimes
San Pablo Police Department, Gang Unit
(510) 215-3275
For youth leadership opportunities
San Pablo Youth Commission
(510) 215-3086
To report other crimes, related information/activity
San Pablo Police Dept., Investigations Unit
(510) 215-3150
For City recreational programs and services
San Pablo Recreation
(510) 215-3080
For school-based programs and The Parent Project
San Pablo Police Dept., Policy Oriented Policing (P.O.P.)
(510) 215-3273